Build Your Own Micro SIM to SIM Adapter

Completed micro SIM adapter

This project came about more out of necessity than curiosity.  Sarah’s iPhone died and we were not quite ready to shell out hundreds of dollars for an out-of-contract phone.  To hold us over while we weighed our options I thought she could just use my old AT&T phone.  The problem was that my old AT&T “dumb” phone used a standard sized SIM card and our newer iPhone 4S used a micro-SIM.

You can buy an adapter for under $5.00 (just search for micro SIM to SIM adapter), but it was late Sunday night and I figured I’d give it a shot first.

micro SIM adapter components

Really it is quite easy.  Take the old regular-sized SIM from your old phone and place the micro-SIM on top so the gold metal contacts line up.  Trace the outline of the micro-SIM card onto the regular SIM with a pencil.  Carefully use an X-acto knife to cut the shape of the micro SIM out of the regular SIM.  Put the micro SIM into the whole you created and use a piece of tape on the back to hold it place.  Done!

Popped the adapter with micro SIM into my dumb phone and it worked perfectly!

Leave a comment